Go back

Expiration of the mandate of 4 members of the ICMM Board

Prishtina – 06 August 2020

Expiration of the mandate of 4 members of the ICMM Board

Independent Commission for Mines and Minerals as an independent institution responds to the Assembly of Kosovo, through the governing Board of the ICMM, in conformity to the implementation of the Law on Mines and Minerals, Law on Safety at Work in Mining Activity and Mining Strategy 2012-2025 of the Republic of Kosovo.

Governing Board until now, comprised of 5 members, four of them including Chairman of the Board Musa Shabani and other members Azem Rexhaj, Kemajl Zeqiri, Festim Kutllovci who started working on 06 May 2015 have completed their work as Members of the Board on 05 August 2020, while present until 23 March 2021 is Member of the Board, Avdi Konjuhi.

During this 5 years period, the Members of the Board as participants in managing ICMM, have shown high performance in the implementation of policies/strategies in mining sector and execution of duties and responsibilities in compliance with the Law on Mines and Minerals.

Also, the ICMM Board has participated in different foreign and domestic meetings, inter-institutional meetings, conferences, meetings which have proved to be successful for the Independent Commission of Mines and Minerals as an institution, as well as for economic aspects at the country level.

In total 1093 licenses and permits have been issued in the period where they were present as a part of the ICMM Board, from which 463 are Exploration Licenses, 231 Mining Licences and 399 were Special Operation Permits.

The ICMM Director informed the Board that the vacancy for a new Members of the Board has been announced by the Government of the Republic of Kosovo on 28.07.2020. Based on legal procedures for election of the Members of the Board, it is not foreseen the Board to come within this month, that means that the ICMM will remain without Board and without opportunity to make decisions especially to issue licenses and permits for undefined term until the election of the new Board.

In the last meeting of the Board, the Board agreed with the statement of the ICMM Director, that the ICMM will remain for a time without a Board and without the opportunity to make decisions due to lack of quorum, as well as the ICMM will be stuck for administrative matters.

After analysing the previous practices in ICMM, the Board agreed to take decision based on the practices of the ICMM Board of the year 2014, where the Board took decision to appoint Acting Chairman.

Based on this decision, the Board took decision in compliance with Article 59 paragraph 1 and Article 62 of LMM to appoint Acting Chairman, Mr Avdi Konjuhi. Acting Chairman will exercise the duty of Chairman until the appointment of the Chairman by the Assembly of the Republic of Kosovo.